DIY: Make Your Own (Eco) Jewellery Cabinet

Recently it’s been bugging me that I had no organised way to see my jewellery and get to it easily when choosing my outfits every day. After researching the internet for both shop bought and DIY solutions, I designed and created my own jewellery cabinet. What I needed was a solution that I could use without having to drill holes into the wall or wardrobe doors (especially useful when renting). What I’ve come up with is a solution that I can easily move to a new place. Just need to slide the front panel in and it’s ready to for the move.

Tada, here it is!!!

Photo

Being at times a little impatient, I bought a wooden wine box from our local off license and got the hooks from Robert Dyas. If you want a truly eco jewellery cabinet, you could look out for an old wooden drawer, get eco friendly wood paint (like: Eggshell (Pro Aqua) (probably the taster would be enough for the whole box) or Auro Eco Paint 160 Woodstain @ Ecotopia.co.uk) and re-use old hooks which will add to the rustic look. Below is a quick step by step guide on how to re-create this jewellery cabinet.

Photo5Photo3Photo4Photo2Photo1

What you will need:

  • Wooden Wine Box (38.5cm W x 35cm H x 13cm D) – made for 4 bottles
  • Sanding paper (coarse and smooth)
  • Wood paint & brush
  • 9 white round cup hooks 20mm
  • 10 white square hooks 25mm
  • 2 Command Mini Hooks with Adhesive Strips
  • Some kind of ribbon or giftwrap string

Step-by-step DIY guide:

  1. Use the sanding paper inside and out, coarse one first, then smooth. This will prime the wood for the paint layer to come.
  2. Paint your wooden cabinet the way you like it. I chose to keep it simply in white as I knew my jewellery would add colour.
  3. Now add the screws to the side and the top of the cabinet. Here are some tips first though: I’ve found the hooks need a minimum of 3cm/1.2″ space between them for screwing them in as well as hanging jewellery on later. For bracelets I found they need a minimum of 9cm/3.6″ height space. I didn’t add any hooks to the back of the wine box, as the wood there is too thin and it would have split. Even the sides and top of the cabinet were slightly too thin so that I ended up not screwing the hooks in fully; otherwise you’d have the ends come through.
  4. I screwed the square hooks into the sides to hang necklaces and bracelets on.
  5. The round cup hooks I used for what is now the ceiling of the jewellery cabinet; that’s where most of my necklaces hang.
  6. Towards the bottom third of the back of the cabinet I attached adhesive hooks, relatively close towards the edges, with the opening to the outside (facing away from each other). 
  7. Around these adhesive hooks I tightly wound the string to have a dedicated hanging place for my earrings. I am considering to re-do the string as I’m sure it’d be even better if I had tied a knot or two along the length of the string. That way both lengths of the string would behave more like a single string.

That’s it, done! I’d love to hear how you find this and what solution you’ve found for your jewellery.

Leave a Reply

