On how to find an eco coat

I’ve got this idea in my head that I want to go the eco route for my new winter coat. I’ve worn my old high street coat for three or four winters now and sadly it looks worse for wear.

I’ve looked at all the eco retailers I could find online (Howies, Peopletree, Braintree to name a few) and couldn’t find a nice, fashionable coat that would keep me warm for a number of winters to come.

I’ve also been looking in our local charity and vintage clothing shops, and again drawn a blank. Either the style was off or the size was wrong.

You might think that I may be too choosey here, and if I really wanted to I’d just get something. True, but I really don’t want to look like a scarecrow just because I’m going for the eco choice!

Now with the days going colder and wetter by the day, I’m forced to consider buying a ‘normal’ coat on the high street. One side of me argues that it’d be relatively eco-friendly as I’d likely choose a coat that I’ll care for and wear for many winters to come.. But I’m reluctant (or stubborn?)!

What do you think I should do? What would you do?

Ta, Rolaa

>>> UPDATE — 05 Dec 2010 <<<
I’ve since found a lovely ‘eco’ winter coat (and more) since – read the story here.

Leave a Reply

